Sometimes you find treasures.

We had a few days up in the Okanagan and in Penticton I visited the thrift store.I found 2 old Butterick transfer patterns for cutwork. I have been wanting to add something extra in the way of lace to a linen top, it may not get done for an upcoming trip but now I have a starting point. It is a long time since I have done any serious needlework, so I would have to practise first to make sure I could get my stitches even, and besides I have done hardanger embroidery so there are some similarities. Only 1 of the designs is missing.

There was a Kwik sew pattern for Toddler boys, I got the grandsons and a whole whack of denim in the stash. It is too dark for me.

I don’t usually go for old sewing books but I couldn’t resist this one, published about the time my mother got her featherweight singer. So just a bit of nostalgia. I love the part where it suggests that you go done to the store each season to get measured by the Singer instructor and on your final fitting to go in for final appraisal. The Singer Dressmaking Guide originally 25 cents.

So I got the whole lot for $1.00. IMG_2453

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. fabrickated
    May 13, 2015 @ 05:28:19

    Wonderful. Getting patterns in charity shops is so random – I always wonder (assuming these all came from one lady) what sort of person had these items first. And what a revelation about the Singer instructor taking an interest in you for life.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

