Toiletries bags

For years I have made do with my toiletries case. A few yaars ago I replaced one with the best I could find but I hated the colour brown with a turquoise interior. It seemed to be fairly shoddily made with a dreaded velcro closing with only got caught on my clothes! That was soon removed.
A couple of years ago, in Hancocks fabrics I found the cotton print called chains and roses in orange, I loved it and then found a wild laminated print as well. I only had one toiletries kit in mind so just bought a third of a yard. A year later, I bought the Kwik Sew 3748 pattern and there it sat. I started with 3 of the orange zippers and in the end used 5. I debated with myself for a while on whether to make the pockets in clear vinyl, white net of blue and in the end chose the blue. I bought a couple of yards of the green knit binding. The first time putting it on was dreadful. So I took that off and started again and hand basted it first.
I used it on the trip to Toronto erlier this month. Most of my things fit in properly, and it fit better in my suitcase as well. Since another trip is starting this weekend, I made up a couple of box bags, I had to find some batik to line the cloth bag and vinyl one is vinyl inside as well. I put tissue over and under the seam as I sewed it.
Now, my toiletries bags will shout ” vacation”  when ever I open my suitcase. I kind of like that idea.IMG_1038

IMG_1037

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie V
    Apr 26, 2013 @ 13:18:57

    Those are great. It’s true that if you want something to work the way you want it you have to make it yourself. I love, love the print. It is so happy!

    Reply

  2. Louisa
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 17:02:39

    They’re really cute! Love the summery colours. Nice convenient packs for odds and ends are always handy, especially on vacation. Even though I don’t use cosmetics myself there’s still quite a collection to corral.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

