First week

The first week of January 2013. Started very slowly, taking life >easy. I am hoping to post a weekly update this year. I only did 30 posts last year and I don’t know if I can get the momentum and discipline needed to post that often but that will be my goal.

I gathered a lot of the ornaments from the tree onto the table, took down the tree. Still to be put away, all Christmas boxes need to be labelled. I have decided to use smaller boxes, so they will be easier to carry. The boxes will be numbered as well, 1 of 8 to 8 of 8. That way should work better.

I dragged (pulled Out) all the fabric that wasn’t on shelves in the sewing room and shoved them in the office on the floor. Until I make a decision, what to do with it. I had to clear out a space to see what was what. Something is going to have to go.
I cut out a sweater dress on Thursday night, and got it close to being finished for a party on the weekend. The collar had me stymied for a bit. But I think I have it solved now. The fabric came in a 10 yard bundle from FabricMart. I had bought a belt for it but no way did it work, so I am on the lookout for something else.

Knitting: I did get my cardigan together and just had to sew on the buttons since new years.
I also started a pair of socks,Christmas gifts new needles and yarn. Colour Hayride from Knitpicks and their latest needle offerings. I love the finish on the wood,silky feeling. I am using a slip stitch pattern to make socks for my self.

Reading: Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian.

Garden the Amaryllis is out! It is quite dramatic and called Charisma.
IMG_0898

Celebrated a retirement in VIctoria, it was a lovely gathering. We had a great time. IMG_0862

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie V
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 16:21:34

    I don’t know which is prettier: the amayllis or the cake!

    I can relate to your fabric pulled out on to the floor. I think I have to do that again with my yarn. And it’s only been two years. Probably would help if I could put stuff away properly…or get rid of something. Good luck!

    Reply

  2. Louisa
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 16:59:05

    I want to inventory my fabric stash as well. I keep forgetting what I have! Hey, maybe you should organise a fabric swap if you have stuff you want to get rid of. At least you’d know that it was being adopted by caring people and leftovers can go to the charity bin. Of course then you’d have to be disciplined enough not to take any new pieces in trade!

    Reply

  3. Bungalow Hostess
    Feb 02, 2013 @ 00:09:08

    Beautiful amaryllis!
    I bet that cake was delicious too…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

