summer wrap up part 1

Oh, my I have  been silent. I didn’t think anything was worth writing about at the time.  I did some art work, made a ring pillow for a wedding, made a linen dress, a couple of other things were sewn. Lots of books were read. Knitting was started 3 or 4 projects, 2 finished. (well, not blocked yet).  Went out on the boat a few times. Had a family party. had company.

The ring pillow was for a dear friend. The wedding was wonderful. It was a beautiful day and so much fun for everyone. My friend likes her bling, had a wonderful dress with pleated chiffon and I wanted to play with that idea. So pearls, aurora borealis sequins, and tanzanite crystals.

I gatherered up  a 39 inch length of chiffon, and basted the edges to a backing of silk duponi,  and then just set about folding, pleating and placing the sequins.  The back was left plain, with a folded silk signature which was buttoned into place. The outside was covered in more sequins and beads. the inside was embroided with their initials, and wedding date..  A loopy ribbon was placed on the top of the pillow.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather G.
    Sep 15, 2012 @ 23:26:15

    Beautiful! I didn’t know you made the ring cushion!

    Reply

  2. Stephanie V
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 17:20:45

    Very pretty and a lovely keepsake. Your summer sounds pretty busy to me.

    Reply

Leave a comment