Left overs and loose ends

I can actually keep my fridge in check most of the time.  My sock yarn has been hidden until now. I knew that they were kept deep in the box in various bags. I just remembered there are a few more that I have knit with recently that were not added to the photos.

There is another sock KAL, that calls for different balls of yarn with contrast.  I know I’ll never do the bee keepers quilt, o n ravelry, no matter how wonderful it looks.  Whatever I decide there will be some loose ends that will need to be woven in, and will probably feel like it is taking as long as it did to knit the sock.

So I pulled out 3 balls of yarn, the 2 larger ones I dyed, so it isn’t superwash merino but the cuff and toes and heels will be superwash, I think.  I think the two yarns are working seamlessly into a nice blend. There are lovely combinations in the pile of left overs, I am excited to put them together.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather G
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 13:31:05

    I started a Mini Mania scarf with my odd ends (and some donations from Jane and Dee). It’s a lot less fiddly than the Beekeeper’s Quilt looks, and to boot, you don’t have to purl if you use a circular needle as a swing needle. Check it out on Ravelry.

    Reply

  2. Stephanie V
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 17:42:29

    I love your combination. The colors in your hand-dyed yarn are so spring-like. Nice.

    Reply

  3. Louisa
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 16:23:01

    There’s also the Ten Stitch Blanket (free pattern on Ravelry). I’m totally addicted and it’s going remarkably quickly! It even looks good with all the tiny odd bits and the self-striping sock yarns. I use a Russian Join to add each new yarn as I go and it keeps the colours separate. Can’t even see the joins after a bit of steaming.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

