Where have they gone?

I have been sewing since I was 13 years old, when I first took Home Economics in Grade 7. Good tools are so important. I have added to my supplies, when ever I saw something that looked good, was different or improved.  I still go to the look at the latest gadgets whenever I enter a different sewing store.

So where have the seam rippers in my collection disappeared in this new place? I have to admit to having 4 or 5 before I came to live here  but they turned up somewhere,but they seem to head into a dark hole. I think there might be one on the boat.

I had one last week when my friend visited, it was titanium scapel blade with a red and grey handle with a end cap. I still have the end cap.

There have been the little ones, like my new one, with a little blade, they have been blue or grey. Then the ones with the red handles a clear top and a larger blade with a red ball over the sharp bit. Then came the scapel blades very sharp and excellent at serged seams, one had a home made handle from popsickle sticks.  All gone.

I bought a new one at the dollar store, I was desperate, I paid my dollar, it broke.

Within 10 minutes of posting this, I found a purple seam ripper. I had looked in that spot I swear.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Louisa
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 19:58:12

    I love my killer-sharp set of two (ripper and picker) from Lee Valley. I never move the box from its basket and try to always return the tools to their place. Like rotary cutters, they can do damage if you aren’t super-careful! However, I still have the old seam ripper that I’ve had for decades. It’s not sharp enough to be useful anymore but interestingly it never managed to fall into your black hole. Must be a really local phenomenon, huh?

    Reply

  2. Stephanie V
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 20:28:35

    I have two…one in my knitting bag and one by the sewing machine. They are both what I think of as ‘old-style’ but they are sharp and do the work they need to do.

    I am imagining those errant seam rippers laughing at you as they scurry from one corner to another. Poor Purple just got caught in mid scurry!

    Reply

  3. Heather G
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 23:53:31

    I have this problem with darning needles… no matter how many I buy I am always scrambling to find one when in need. I’ve managed to keep hold on one for a few projects in a row now, which I view as a considerable victory.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

