Crusade number 51

Michelle Ward continues with her latest series of crusades with evidence of our houses, called Home Sweet Home. I decided to tie it in with project spectrum as well, so I did use the red for May. I decided to work with house numbers, I have quite often kept records of colour schemes, room demensions, garden layouts etc but house  numbers seemed the way to go, especially after I found the paper with numbers on it. So I just included numbers of the  houses we owned.

After cutting the paper to fit the envelope again, I scraped on a coat of gesso and then got out a stensil. I used an old marker to do the outlines, then red  and black crayons to fill in and outline the numbers. I painted in the backgrouns with some craft paint. Then added some dull gold over the yellow, added some blue textile paint over the peridot.  The red was looking a little dull, so went over it again with some red fluid acrylic.  That made it pop.

I think it needs something else, I just added the details of the crusade challenge to the page.

Once again it was fun to join other artists online. So thanks, Michelle, for putting this out there for us. I haven’t read the posts from other artists, for the last 2 crusades, so I’ll be visiting the other artists and leaving comments. I can’t wait to see what they have done.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. michelle ward
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 11:00:40

    Rosemary – love it when you can accomplish two things at once! Great page with the house numbers – love the subtle numbers in the background, contrasted with the large red ones. Love the texture you got with the gesso. Makes me wonder….did any of your homes have stucco finished walls?
    Thanks for sharing with the team!

    Reply

  2. Karen Isaacson
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 15:40:26

    I absolutely love the texture of your background and the way those red numbers pop off the page. Beautiful work!

    Reply

  3. sheila
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 13:00:27

    Love those numbers in red and that rich juicy texture of the paper behind. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  4. QuinnCreative
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 21:27:34

    Oh, those colors in the numbers! Perfect! And the background and envelop just blend the whole project together. Wonderfully creative!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

