New Winter coat

Sometime in the summer of 2008, I joined the Great Coat Sew-Along. Many photos went back and forth, with me in my muslin, trying to problem solve. Then the house went up for sale and the coat materials and pattern were boxed up. Sometime in 2009, it was unpacked and cut out, I worried a great deal about bound buttonholes, I read everything I could and put it all away again. Finally in the last few months of 2010, I decided to get going and get it done, so finally I am finished.

Pattern Butterick 4665 , now out of print, fabric melton cloth with a silk tie fabric  lining from Fabric Mart.  Buttons from the stash. I look forward to wearing this coat.  Some of the sewing skills are starting to come back, I think I could do another coat or jacket now. I have several patterns and lots of fabric to chose from. I knitted several scarves to go with this coat, it will be fun to get them out of the closet. My pictures aren’t great and as with most sewing projects there are a few problems  but truly it is the best that I could do this time around. It fits well, I have worn it in the cold of Toronto  and today in Vancouver, so I am happy.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie V
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 16:17:41

    That color looks great on you…don’t see you wearing that much of it at a time. Nice coat – it looks warm. Glad you conquered those bound buttonholes!

    Reply

  2. Bobbi Bullard
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 04:17:32

    I sew ALL the time but I’ve never done a coat. After seeing this one I’m tempted. It looks great on you. https://fabricfan.wordpress.com/2009/07/

    Reply

  3. Bobbi Bullard
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 04:17:43

    I sew ALL the time but I’ve never done a coat. After seeing this one I’m tempted. It looks great on you.

    Reply

  4. Claire S.
    Feb 20, 2011 @ 15:31:39

    Congratulations on finishing – it looks great ! Mine is still in pieces partially padstitched, sitting in a corner and staring at me accusingly LOL

    Reply

  5. Marji
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 15:39:06

    Rosemary, It looks great! The fit is wonderful too, so glad you got it back out and finished it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

