GPP Crusade #43

One again, I have decided to do the crusade by Michelle Ward. Text messaging didn’t sound hard, but I struggled with this one. We were to cut out text from magazines and arrange in a composition.  I had a couple of magazines  and decided to use a fashion magazine. I had been looking at the faces trying to see the shadows and tring to figure out how to draw for my other course which I take online.  I pulled quite a few pieces of text from the magazine which appealed to me. I knew it was a shallow magazine but until  you see it spread out in front of you, you don’t realize how bad it is.  Is this the image I want to put out there? So I thought about the other magazines I had with me, one from the liquor store, which is full of great food receipes and wonderful colour pictures and a Good Housekeeping which was all domesticated.  None of these things truly speak of me either, I need a whole raft of magazines to say who I am! I am not cutting up my craft, sewing or knitting mags.

Maybe, I am taking this too seriously, I should just glue it down and get on with it. Maybe I should do more than one, each from a different magazine and see how varied I should make the project.  I wallowed for days.

I thought about the words , fashion bible, style bible, food bible and how loosely the word bible is used these days compared to the past, when bible  referred to one book only.

So both bibles (it was an old Bible wwith the cover falling offf) were used, it became more of a statement, than I usually make.  I used matte medium to glue it all down and thus it is wrinkly.

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle Ward
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 22:23:51

    Rosemary – I am giggling to myself. I love that you shared that you wallowed for days on this 🙂 In contrast, mine took like 15 minutes. I think the difference is that I didn’t try to make a statement with my words…I just used lines of text as graphic elements. I think this looks good as is….or you could continue to add to it as you find words and phrases from magazines, catalogs, newspapers, or even junk mail! The point is that you browsed through your stash with new eyes, looking at pages that you have rifled through previously searching for something different. Yay for doing it! Thanks for sharing with the team.

    Reply

  2. iHanna
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 17:59:49

    I think it was interesting to read about your walloving, thanks for sharing your process with us! I’m like you so words are SO important to me, but I cut out random words from a newspaper that I liked and used those. It’s not a statement but I think maybe they say something about me. 🙂

    Cruse on girl!
    /another crusader

    Reply

  3. Cath
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 21:30:02

    Seems so many of us are so similar. I, too chose words which appealed to me and one of the most interesting thing about visiting the blogs from the challenge has been the choice of words – they speak volumes. I did mine pretty quickly, though – and thoroughly enjoyed the process.

    Reply

  4. Helen
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 09:38:02

    Even if you don’t want to words always mean something, don’t you think? I was surprised with the message in my pages after I had glued down the words. I like the contrast on your page with the bible and the fashion messages.

    Reply

  5. Louisa
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 16:53:58

    Glad you couldn’t cut up your craft mags! That would be a much bigger sacrilege than cutting up a Bible. 😉

    Reply

  6. Suzanne Bouchard
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 19:14:41

    I think it is fun to see how each person interprets the challenge. Here in this page I see a contrast between old and new. I like how the big words pop out from the little text background.

    Reply

  7. Janet
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 19:59:09

    I, too, had all sorts of problems with this crusade. It’s not as easy as it seems! But I’m glad you shared your experience, and your page turned out great.

    Reply

  8. Karen
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 22:40:27

    I loved reading your post…. I did mine fairly quickly….. saw everyone elses and then wanted to start again!!!!!

    I love the contrast with the old and new too.

    Reply

  9. Cath Sheard
    Sep 12, 2010 @ 00:03:03

    I really like what you have done; we do use ‘bible’ rather loosely these days. Funny how language changes so much. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  10. Paula
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 00:51:01

    I really really like this! You may have wallowed,but the result is wonderful! The contrast is so appealing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

