Sunhat

I have been on the boat for the last 10 days and the weather has been hot and sunny. I had just finished the Windansea hat from Berocco and it sure came in handy. Not sure I used strong enough wire around the edge, it was what I had on hand and the elastic in the headband  part I am not sure of either. I did dip it in tea to take some of the white out. I used Berocco Origami instead of Berocco Seduce. I had 2 meters left over, I used 2 skeins.  Good points– It was not hot to wear, the brim is bendable.  It can easily take off in the wind, so I had to be careful. But it is fun to wear, it can go in a suitcase.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie V
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 14:15:42

    That’s a neat hat. And it seems to be doing the job with style.

    Reply

  2. Louisa
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 15:45:14

    Fun hat! What kind of wire did you use? Millinery wire is often covered in rayon and is hard-tempered so it doesn’t bend too easily. There is plastic “wire” too. Not sure what Dressew has but I’ll have to investigate next time I’m in there!

    Reply

  3. Michelle Ward
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 22:28:04

    What? You made this hat? I am very impressed! It looks grand! I am a hat girl myself and never met anyone who MAKES them. And you have been on a boat for ten days? What a glorious life. Again, I am so impressed Rosemary!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

