Project yarnway June

It sure would be great if I could design and complete something for Project yarnway. I have managed one completed article.

Escape to nowhere,  something for the imaginary vacation. I started with my list of words and associations for a vacation. Some things I didn’t need and I like to think I am practical about knitting (I am Not) but I don’t want to make something that I could sew, it needs to be multi purpose, go with quite a few things and not take a lot of room in a suitcase.

Since I am going to Jamaica for a wedding next January and a week later I will be visiting Toronto.  I finally decided on a camisole, comfortable in the evening out for dinner on the island and an extra layer of warmth if needed in Toronto.

As luck would have it I was in Courtney at the time, just happened to find a wonderful yarn store,  Uptown Yarns and then of course, found a yarn so soft, silk and merino and and incredible colour. Did I mention lace weight and 750 yards( I think) I have misplaced the label. It is by Sweatermaker. It was a bit of a b—– to wind into a ball, and no I didn’t use my swift or ball winder but I was dying to get started.

I did the math, decided on a circular needle and have knit pretty steadily, mostly on the boat and I have picked up speed but am now at the half way point.  If I keep working on it, it just might be ready for that vacation.

My computer is not liking my photos tonight, will try to add later.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Makealife
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 10:30:06

    Good luck with it, cant wait to see the photos

    Reply

Leave a Reply

