Crusade #41 Grid lock

I was excited when I saw the latest crusade from Michelle Ward. Make a grid, and fill with some of your past crusade pieces or other papers that you have.

My bird prints from Pulling prints were perfect for this. My grids turned out a bit wonky but I just wanted to play. I grouted between the tiles with black tape that I bought years ago. The first grid was the large size, the second the medium sized and the third grid I used a paper punch and glued the grid to black paper and then added the bird  die cut that I had used in the pulling prints project. I had so much fun with this challenge.  There is very little of the original prints left over.

Thanks Michelle.

I started with some of my prints from Crusade #39.

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle Ward
    Jun 17, 2010 @ 23:33:59

    Rosemary – wow, three grids! Fabulous!! LOVE that you used the remnants from Crusade No. 39. LOVE your term “grout” with the tape! Clever use of it! Love that you explained the tape, and the punch to get such nice elements from your printed pages. Very cool to include the birdie your used in the printmaking. That even would count for No. 36 ~ Braving the Elements. Well done girl, thanks for sharing with the team!

    Reply

  2. Jane
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 12:37:14

    Gorgeous!!

    Reply

  3. Stephanie V
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 14:34:29

    Interesting technique. I love all the colors and the variety that you achieved.

    Reply

  4. Cath Sheard
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 10:34:12

    Wow! These turned out great. The best bit for me is that I can see the texture of the paint where you pulled the prints. Very cool – I love seeing the hand of the artist in the work and that really does it for me.

    Reply

  5. TJ
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 20:52:55

    These are amazing and vibrant squares…and they look terrific on the black background. Good idea! Happy creations, tj in germany

    Reply

  6. MissKoolAid
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 15:47:24

    What a fun way to use your prints.
    Cheers,
    Sophie

    Reply

  7. Marble Blue
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 22:04:15

    Grout tape – would never have thought of that. What a great way to create the grid, add an extra element and add texture!!! The bird is stunning too – love it.

    MB

    Reply

  8. Regina
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 06:24:27

    I like how colorful & cheerful these are.

    Reply

  9. Helen
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 15:30:16

    Love it you used your prints, I used some og mine too. The colors really pop out on the black.

    Reply

  10. Brigitte
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 08:27:32

    Beautiful and colorful grids, love them ! I used an old painted paper too, it’s amazing how well they look when you cut them into smaller pieces 😉

    Reply

  11. linda
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 06:45:22

    Wow, what beautiful colors! Looks like the colors are dancing, but the grid really grounds everything…very cool!

    Reply

  12. daisy
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 06:45:53

    Luv the drama of your artwork mosaic on the second page grid … so visually stimulating with all the colours, shapes & textures. Fab!

    Reply

  13. Lay Hoon
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 09:56:57

    The pages turned out gorgeous !!
    Especially love the combi colours.

    Reply

  14. dawn
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 02:29:12

    Thanks so much for commenting on my blog. I LOVEEEEE this page!!!! Beautiful.

    And my “squares” are uneven because I was too lazy to measure. hehe.

    Reply

  15. susan greene
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 03:25:31

    I love the color and energy in these pieces!

    Reply

  16. Joan
    Jul 03, 2010 @ 03:02:51

    These are wonderful grids; love the bright colors!

    Reply

  17. belinda
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 14:10:40

    wow, fabulous colors!! love the grid page composition

    Reply

  18. Trackback: 2010 in review « Fabricfan’s Blog
  19. Jackie
    Jan 15, 2011 @ 21:57:00

    Rosemary, I didn’t see these on my previous visit – they are fabulous! The grids are just so effective and I love how you have used the black tape.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

