Crusade # 40 Step on the scale.

Crusade number 40 , at Green Pepper Press, or XL in Roman numerals, is all about changing our default scale, bigger or smaller  but  we were to use the same techniques.

I have worked with paper bags before making book covers but I usually cover matte  board to make hard covers.  Instead of using a large grocery bag, I used a lunch bag. Much smaller and thinner.

I crumpled it up first, and then did the tops of the crumples with black, I was determined to use more black but I used a pretty light application. Then I painted with a acrylic paints both regular and metallic.

I took the whole bag and ironed some stitch witchery to the bag and then ironed that to green broadcloth. Then cut out my shapes and went around the edge with a zigzag on the sewing machine. I added a couple of  postage stamps, one used and the other a transfer from a postal sheet, used the art stamp again. Threading the elastic cord through the papers and fabric was the hardest part.  I quite like the soft bendable covers that were created.

Thanks Michelle, for posting this fun idea.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie V
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 01:44:19

    Those turned out well. I really like the watery blue/green. Nice.

    Reply

  2. Lay Hoon
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 01:55:30

    There turned out very well !!!
    Matching stamps and the cover indeed.

    Reply

  3. Michelle Ward
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 03:20:58

    Rosemary – these are beautiful! Thanks for pointing out that they are paper bags of the lunch size variety. With the stitching they come off looking like fabric. Very cool. Thanks for sharing with the team!!

    Reply

  4. MissKoolAid
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 04:13:16

    Those look wonderful.

    Reply

  5. TJ
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 06:50:22

    Wow your covers turned out beautiful. I love working on paper bags! Thank you also for visiting my blog and taking the time to comment… it’s been really fun for me to see everything the participants came up with. Looking forward to another Crusade! happy creations, from tj in germany

    Reply

  6. Helen
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 09:22:08

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. I think your books are fantastic, beautiful combination with your stitching, it gives them a great feel, I think with the soft covers.

    Reply

  7. Jane
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 12:45:22

    These are beautiful! I love them. Thank you for the inspiration.

    Reply

  8. iHanna
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 06:40:35

    Isn’t paper bags (any size) the best material? So cheap, and so beautiful, why ever buy papers? 😉 Take care crusader!

    Reply

  9. teri
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 10:57:33

    What a unique and beautiful work of art. I’m having a wonderful time visiting all the other crusaders and seeing the many projects. Such a talented and diverse group!!

    Reply

  10. Maria Killam
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 04:50:31

    Totally beautiful! They could be greeting cards too!!

    Reply

  11. sheila
    Jun 05, 2010 @ 17:52:28

    These are really special and gorgeous in every way. I would not have known they started their lives as brown paper bags! Thank you so much for sharing.

    Reply

  12. inge bekaert
    Jun 06, 2010 @ 13:19:44

    Hello Rosemary,

    I don’t understand what you mean by ironing stitch witchery , but I know that I like your finished result !
    greetings from Belgium
    Inge

    Reply

  13. Brigitte
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 10:15:20

    These look beautiful, well done !

    Reply

  14. Cath Sheard
    Jun 12, 2010 @ 10:00:48

    I really enjoyed reading your process; now I need to go look up stitch witchery. I think the final results look amazing and especially like the warm coloured one at the left.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

