Bag it and Tag it

It sounds like a CSI tv show but this is the Project Yarnway  challenge for April. Make a bag for a client, so we also need to create a story.

I finally decided that my client was a traveler who likes to pack lightly and therefore things must be multipurpose.   I have also been fascinated by the lantern purse in a sewing magazine from a few months ago.It was in the winter 2009, edition of Sew Stylish and was made by Judith Neukam.

I figured out the hexagon shape and the accordian  nature of the bag and started to knit. So far it looks interesting and strange to me.  I am struggling a bit with the closure but am going to the icord, drawn through the holes.  It is going to be felted by hand and not the machine so that I can control the size I hope.  How will it be multi-purpose?  You just dump out the contents and turn it upside down as a hat.

It started out OK.

The bottom of the bag, the second picture show the side details,  it was very hard to get the right colour, even with photoshop it is still wrong.  It is a dark mustard colour.

Alas, the  felting did not work as I had hoped. Neither by hand or machine. It went through 2 machine washes and one drying on high.  Big weird and totally unusable. I could cut it up and use it as the base of a fabric postcard or atc. It could be a hot pad for the table. I could needle felt into it  and create something.  Let’s just say I am not totally surprised. I didn’t  make a swatch and felt it first. I guess a designer should know her materials and how it will or will not react.  I wasn’t sure if the flange area would work, if the purled and stockinette would look very different.  It is rather a matted blob, maybe my needle size was wrong. I am not sorry that I worked on this design challenge, I did learn a few things.

As Heidi, would say on Project Runway, “sometimes your in and sometimes your out.” Not a winner with this one.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. joanmm
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 00:30:35

    A valiant attempt and certainly a very unusual purse. Carry on…

    Reply

  2. Stephanie V
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 01:28:32

    Must have been a frustrating exercise. Too bad; your idea sounds good. I like the expanding concept.
    I’ll post my bag tomorrow. This wasn’t the most exciting challenge. I’ve noticed only 3 entries in the amateur runway so far. It may be midnight that I enter but I’ll get it done. I did a lot of more fun stuff before buckling down to work.

    Reply

  3. Maria Killam
    May 08, 2010 @ 05:27:48

    Hey, it takes practice I would think, that is a very cool looking bag! I think you are so talented!

    Reply

  4. Louisa
    May 13, 2010 @ 15:26:00

    What yarn did you use? Perhaps your tension was too tight, not leaving enough room for the felting to happen? The shape is quite wonderful anyway!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

