Playtime: Pulling Prints

I am off on another crusade with Michelle Ward,  it is number 39, this time pulling prints. Mono prints and masks or stencils. Not my favorite especially on fabric and that is mostly what I have done for other classes. This time it was on index cards. I came across a stack while resorting the stash and I recently had bought a die cut bird. Next step was to find the glass to print on and I took apart a picture frame which was badly in need of replacing. She suggested making a mask from tyvek, but I forgot that part.

I started with red and ochre acrylic paint and kept adding colours from there. I didn’t clean up until I was finished and I kept adding drops of water as well to keep the paint moving and printable. I like the ones with the boldest colour, and some I am not fond of at all, but I did like working with the die cut bird and now that it has been through a rainbow.

Now, I wonder what to do next, there is some wonderful texture in some of them. I can see matting some of the images and using them in cards.  Maybe adding them to a journal page or in a collage.

At any rate, I am glad that Michele puts out these crusades once a month. They at least get me moving to try something. I have so many supplies in my stash, it is good to get them out and play.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle Ward
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 01:24:12

    Rosemary – how cool that you found file cards in your stash! Love seeing this pile of prints. Clicking on them I see the details of all the mooshed colors, very cool. I love how the bird emerges from the riot of color – it makes you take a second look. Thanks for sharing with the team!!

    Reply

  2. Lay Hoon
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 06:46:11

    Cool !!! Love the second pull out.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Crusade #41 Grid lock « Fabricfan’s Blog

Leave a Reply

