Home from vgfa retreat

A week without cooking was a treat for me and it was great to spend so much time on one project. The doll isn’t finished yet, I might still do another set of hands, making her satin shoes with leather soles is killing my finger tips, it does help when I put on my thimble.  I glued them on the other night, not happy, I ripped them off. Now I am having a rethink, I want to put sequins on her shoes. Her cloak is still being sewn, I have overlaid organza over a striped satin fabric and am now adding extra rows of machine stitching on top of the organza. I am not sure about the inside of the fabric, it will show and I am thinking I need a lining, so it won’t match the sleeves.

Akira Blount’s class was wonderful, I hadn’t sculpted a head out of knit fabric before, it then had to be stiffened and a gauze applied over the top, the same with the hands.  We made our own patterns, so we ended up with a size that we liked to work on.   No stress, and I think a few more days of work are needed yet.

Her name is Constance Louisa after my grandma’s. She is Edwardian, a dear old soul, who thinks she is the guardian of the flowers and likes to wander in the garden at all times of the day or night.  She has a serene look and thinks the flowers have had a good year and is sad to see that they are fading.  She is fading herself but that doesn’t bother her as much.

She is not ready for her photo shoot yet but here are a few details.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Louisa
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 14:42:14

    I like her second name a lot! 😉

    Hope to see her in all her glory soon! You were so lucky to study with Akira. I love her work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

