Squirrels and Magnolias

Rowanberry studio had this post the other week and I thought that I’d share my experience.

The magnolia had been early to start blooming this year because of the mild weather.  I noticed some flower blooms on top of the fence.

I didn’t know what had caused this to happen.

That was when we discovered the squirrel.

The most succulent bits appear to be seeds in the base of the flower, the petals are all that is left behind. It took an acrobatic squirrel to be able to balance on the thin branches. It looked like the best ones were just out of reach.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. KathleenC
    Apr 04, 2010 @ 17:05:50

    I had no idea that squirrels ate magnolia flowers! Or, well, the seeds at least… The magnolia is one of my favorite flowering trees.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

