Doll Retreat

Starting Easter Sunday, I will be at a Vancouver Guild of Fibre Arts retreat. The retreat is north of Maple Ridge in the valley and is at the Loon lake ubc  research site. I am taking a doll making course with Akria Blount,she does some lovely work, I have seen her dvd and I am quite excited to attend. Seven members of our doll group are attending the five day course.  The 40th  anniversary dinner of the guild is on Saturday night.

After finding the metal flower shapes, I finally had my inspiration.  I am thinking an older woman, a faded beauty, the keeper of the flowers. I had a couple of other pieces of metal found objects and I’ll take them along as well. Now I am gathering the rest of the materials. I have tea dyed my fabrics and I think I’ll take some silk as well as the recommended cottons. Just need to locate the fibres for her hair. (She’ll be a faded red head)

I am nearly ready to go, 2 sewing machines, a pile of bedding, one bag of snacks, one huge rubbermaid container of doll stuff,  and a large suitcase of clothes and necessities.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie V
    Apr 04, 2010 @ 15:59:05

    Have a great time! Your idea sounds intriguing. I’m glad she’s to be a redhead (faded). Somehow that’s just right.

    Reply

  2. Maria Killam
    Apr 04, 2010 @ 22:06:59

    Have fun, and thanks so much for your comment!! It’s so stressful looking!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

