Tacoma visit

Last Saturday, I went exploring again in Tacoma. My exploring seems to involve only a couple of blocks near the Union train station. I am content in this area and I don’t need the car. The free trolley in the area went near our hotel and took us where we wanted.
Finally, I made it to the Museum of Glass. It was wonderful, there is a new exhibit outside by Martin Blank, Fluent Steps, a 209 foot installation with over 700 pieces of glass took my breath away. I didn’t see it at night when it was lit up. But in the daylight it sparkles.
Inside an exhibit by Preston Singletary, whose work I had seen in when we were visiting Boston. His skill with glass and his interpretation of Tinglit design was stunning.
There was also a Kids design glass exhibit, which was a great deal of fun.
The hot Shop Amphitheater was wonderful, nothing like comfy seats to enhance the experience!

Here are some of the photos.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie V
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 15:53:56

    They look like glass flowers. And they remind me of those schools of jellyfish we see around docks. What a fun place to visit. Hope you’ve found some good yarn, too.

    Reply

  2. Louisa
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 00:21:01

    ooh, I want to go there too sometime. T would be totally into it since he has worked with lampwork and stained glass. Unfortunately whenever we pass Tacoma we don’t seem to have time to stop!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

