Change of plans

My friend picked me up fairly early so we could get to the Fraser Valley  bead show bright and early in Coquitlam. Imagine we were early for once, we got there about 10 and it didn’t open until 2 on Friday. We had the delicious problem what to do with our free time. We took off for a mall that we hadn’t visited but as we were passing through New Westminster, we saw a bead store. That was enough to stop us, it has been many years since I had shopped in New West.
But first we came upon a paper store called Paper poet, so we both spent a few bucks.  Paper is another ongoing passion. Then it was on to the bead shop Moody Beads, some lovely stuff in there as well and I got a few copper findings and a couple of beads that could fit a pandora style bracelet.

We went back to the bead show, still a little early but lots of time for an Apple tart and another pot of tea, even though we had just had lunch and tea at a new cafe and bistro in New West.

Well, the bead show didn’t disappoint, my friend headed for her favorite place to buy silver chains and findings. I went the more funky route. Lampwork beads are my favorite and one of my favorite artists was there from Caliente glass and I picked up some orphan beads from here.

Fire design beads were beautiful and I picked up some findings and beads for a pandora style bracelet.

My best find was the antique flowers from I Found Gallery in Vancouver, all of a sudden I had my direction for the doll that I will be making in a couple of weeks at Fibre in the Forest.  I was hoping for inspiration and I found it!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie V
    Mar 18, 2010 @ 14:47:07

    Nice beads. And those flowers are so delicate and different. Sort of like metal snowflakes.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Doll Retreat « Fabricfan’s Blog

Leave a Reply

