Project Yarnway February

Over on Ravelry, the knitter’s site. A new group, Project Yarnway,was formed based on Project Runway, the TV show. The designers are challenged each week to make something new, sometimes it recycled, for a celebrity, for charity, using things from the dollar store, etc. All served up with judges, models and a whole lot of drama.

I love a new challenge and most of them for me start with ” I am not inspired” who wants to do that. Then the old brain cells kick in and I am thinking, what about that yarn, what stitch would I use, is there enough yarn.

So February’s challenge was the stash challenge, design something from what you have on hand. Don’t buy new needles, just use what is there.

First up for me, the versatile Neck Ring, in Rib, in Merlin a gift from DIL,  it is a cotton, linen, in terracotta and I loved working with it. It will be great for breezy spring days in the Pacific Northwest. I can see making it up in a couple of colours of noro as well for winter. I wanted the ring or cowl narrow at the back of the neck so one could wear a jacket without distorting the neck.  It can be folded in a couple of different ways.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie V
    Feb 28, 2010 @ 19:49:24

    I like this. I was glad that you explained the name of the yarn. Where? On Ravelry? Merlin: merino and linen. It took me a while…blame the cold.

    Reply

  2. Maria Killam
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 02:18:03

    The easiest way to wear something to keep our neck warm! Love it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

