Dare to be inspired day #5

We have tried a few things over the last year and a half, so it was a bit of a challenge to figure out what to do this time around. We shorted up the time a bit and decided to do a show and tell, my fabric piece from a couple of weeks ago, someone brought their finished jewelry projects for inspiration, another person had been  to a workshop on transferring photos to fabric and showed us what that session was about and the last person showed her collage canvases.

Next time up we will do the collages, but for now, we wanted to get the finishing details on our jewelry and charm bracelets a little more professional. My vacation buddy led us through jump rings, crimps and eye  loops. It sounds easy but we all learned a few tricks that we hadn’t picked up from looking at videos and reading instructions.  I think most of us will be out picking up a few new and better tools.  We decided that we wanted to do our own  thing and not have any pressure about making charms for someone else.  I am so looking forward to the next meeting to see what everyone thinks up.

I wore my bracelet today and a couple of charms fell off, I was still in the house so I found the bits. Obviously a little more practice and care is needed. I bought some chains at Michael’s and wove them together. I wanted to use a variety of metals, so picked up some washers from the hardware store, used part of an old fastener from a coat tie,  a few new glass charms and some old silver ones from my stash.

Lots of room for more charms to add later.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Louisa
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 18:35:22

    I love charm bracelets – though they drive me nuts to wear! Maybe you need to use wrapped loops to secure things better? They take a bit of practice and more wire but nothing can escape.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

