workshop results

At the end of January, the doll group had a workshop on wrapped dolls  with a wire armature. It was a fun day with a group of friends.  I was slowed down when I could not find a wooden base for the doll to stand. We were working from a book by Ray Slater, Clothdolls for Textile Artists.  This was my opportunity for making a layered background fabric.

I had fun putting together a bunch of bits, handmade felt, layered onto organza, along with paper napkins, strips of panne printed velvet, tulle, angelina  fibers, knitted copper, wire some cut into tiny bits, more organza over the top and still an orange chiffon scarf over that. When it was all pinned together, I noticed a few bare spots, so I flipped the whole thing over and covered the back with painted dryer sheets and nappy liners and then another layer of organza. Now I was ready to stitch, the first lines  were with a ombre rayon thread and then in the other direction I used a metallic multi colour.

I also wrapped a couple of pipe cleaners with velvet and threads and  I haven’t finished them yet, not sure if it is hair for a doll or part of the headdress. The fabric is pretty stiff , the fabric isn’t going to drape but I am thinking it will make a very flamboyant over the top creation. I don’t know if I have the doll making skills yet, but I am taking a week long workshop in April, so perhaps after that I’ll be ready to begin.

click on the picture to see more details.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie V
    Feb 11, 2010 @ 18:21:26

    So far, so good. I can hardly wait to see the doll. My imagination is working overtime!

    Reply

  2. Louisa
    Feb 15, 2010 @ 16:27:29

    Your layered fabric is beautiful. Can’t wait to see the doll!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

