Crusade challenge

During the last year, I have been following along with Michelle Ward’s  Crusades. She puts a crusade out 10 times a year , some time it is techniques, quotes, carving your own stamps, etc. Anyone can join in and you can link to her page. People do amazing work.

I tried to jump right in this year, but was quite bogged down when I could not find the gesso. I finally worked on crusade no 36 on Friday night. I used watercolour instead of acrylics, realized my snowflakes, were not the dainty things I’d imagined but I forged ahead. We were to use the snowflakes as stensils and then to stick them to the pages as well.

So Braving the Elements GPP Street Team Crusade No 36. ( I can’ figure out how to put the proper header in here, something new to learn for next time.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. michelle ward
    Feb 01, 2010 @ 12:01:45

    rosemary – wow, just under the wire! you did it! bravo for participating…a great way to start out the year. thanks for coming to play!

    Reply

  2. sheila
    Feb 01, 2010 @ 15:40:39

    I, too, had visions of dainty snowflakes but ended up with a gigantic one! I love your snowflake designs and the watercolour effect.

    Reply

  3. Stephanie V
    Feb 01, 2010 @ 16:23:59

    Sounds like Crusade really means Challenge. It also sounds like fun.
    I’m surprised that gesso was so hard to find. Don’t painters use that any more?

    Reply

  4. Cath Sheard
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 08:09:22

    You say you “forged ahead” – I think that’s great. Sometimes it is too easy to throw up our hands in horror when the going gets tough. No gesso + big snowflakes+ winning attitude = cool pages.

    Reply

  5. Jane
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 12:02:21

    Your flakes are great! I like the delicate effect you got with the watercolors, too! I might have to try that.

    Reply

  6. teri
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 04:28:20

    what a fab idea to use watercolors. You are so creative!

    Reply

  7. aztecmichelle
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 05:28:00

    Lovely layouts. And using what you have on hand is what the crusade is all about (IMHO)

    Reply

  8. Zura
    Feb 09, 2010 @ 03:19:16

    I like your snowflakes! They don’t look like they are glued down. Very dimensional. Great job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

