sewing on vacation

While we were at Three Valley Gap museum, I found a couple of neat sewing related items.

The first was a story quilt, this one  is based on the Atlantic provinces but what intrigued me the most was the style of the quilt.

My grandma made a similar quilt for me, the pictures were drawn on the quilt top and were then coloured with crayons. After my mom would wash the quilt, the colours would have faded and we got to colour it again.

The next couple of neat things were a ribbon cabinet, I thought of several of my friends with large ribbon collections. The ribbons were wrapped around  large wooden spools and kept behind glass doors.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have never seen a skirt rack like this, it is from 1800’s and is called a Buckingham skirt rack.

Leave a Reply

