Fabric Postcards

Months back, I had friends over and we painted bits of fabric, dryer sheets and nappy liners.

The green one was finally used along with some Angelina film, it was covered in polyester chiffon and I went around the flowers and tacked it down around the edge with green rayon thread. There it sat for a couple of months not looking quite right.
Then I found a paper serviette with green ferns, so I packed it up while on vacation and took it home. I tore the serviette in to piece and had to unpick the previous stitching around the edge. I was more comfortable starting with the hand stitching.
My background was 13″ by 9″ and I was able to get 4 postcards when I was finished. So then I stitched everything down, I really need to practice with the freeform embroidery and added dark brown rayon around the edge. In reality it is much more vibrant with a spring like green.

The biggest delight, Canada posted delivered it in one day!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Heather G.
    Nov 24, 2009 @ 01:14:04

    Heh, I read this right after I checked the mail. Thank you!! Even prettier in person!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

