Home from vacation

This post has been challenging to write. I had several  posts written about my vacation, just awaiting photos to be added when I finally had a good internet connection. It is a major pain working on a new laptop, when I am used to my keyboard.  I just like sitting at my desk.

I am going to attempt some photo mosaics of my trip. So hopefully, fields of crops, windmills, lakes and rivers, and  Some funky stuff will appear someday.

I have also been fighting a cold and dizzy spells but feel better today.

I managed to make 2 blouses for me, knits,  1 bathing suit( I felt too ill to actually go in a pool at the hotels coming home) and I have also started both the skirt and the pants.  I finally put thread in the machine this week, so just tidying up a few ends.

While we were away, my mother passed away just 2 days shy of her 94th birthday. She was in a coma, when I made it home, she was bright and talkative the day before her stroke. I had sent the blouse I had made her while we were away. She liked the colour and fabric.

So while I am home from vacation, I am still adjusting to a home life without my mom.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie V
    Oct 28, 2009 @ 14:28:43

    So good to see you back…I was just thinking about you last night and wondering: when?
    Thank you for your message at Thanksgiving. I know it is so hard to adjust to that mom-sized hole in your life. Moms are special people who live on in us.
    I’m looking forward to seeing your mosaics. I’ve never tried that.

    Reply

  2. Adriana
    Oct 28, 2009 @ 15:40:49

    I was so sorry to hear about your mother. At least she wasn’t in any pain.

    Reply

  3. KathleenC
    Oct 28, 2009 @ 19:46:17

    I am so sorry to hear of your loss… my sympathies to you and your family. I am glad she was able to see and enjoy the blouse you made her…

    Reply

  4. Claire S.
    Oct 31, 2009 @ 19:03:00

    I’m so sorry to hear of your loss. My prayers are with you & your familly.

    Reply

  5. Louisa
    Nov 02, 2009 @ 21:16:38

    Oh my! It’s a trend – my mom died on Oct 23rd and another friend’s mom died last Wednesday. So sorry to hear about yours too, hon’. It’s not a trend we want to continue. Big hugs!

    And speaking of trends, so that’s where my dizzies went! You don’t want them. They get to hanging around. Though I think I would take them over the flu that DH has at the moment. Ick. Feel better soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

