Cautionary tales.

We moved a few months ago now and have kept busy doing the usual unpacking and moving things about. I have been wanting to clean the vent on the back of the gas stove. So we pulled the stove out to be able to get at the screws on the back, yuck, should have done that before now. Still haven’t cleaned the vent as the small socket set of wrenches is on the boat but we cleaned and vacuumed. The fridge has been moaning and groaning, sounded a bit laboured and I wondered if we were facing a repair bill. OMG, the dust under the fridge and covering all moving parts, I am surprised that I could hear the motor at all. It was also too close to the back wall. So I feel much better about doing a good clean, I am willing to bet it has been a long time since such loving care was given. While down on our knees, we took the front off the dishwasher as well, just another dust build up but nothing like the fridge.

A couple of weeks ago, when we had the big party, I had bought 4 chickens and after cutting everything up, I put all the backs in a freezer bag to eventually make soup. We were going out for dinner and I thought a container of soup might be nice to take with us. I had this incredible pot of soup and scooped out the onions, carrots, celery and bones and let the soup cool a bit. So I could re add the meat. Evidently not enough, I scooped out a measuring cup and poured it into a cannister glass jar with a lid that clasps into place, the bottom fell out into the soup pot. A fair bit went on the counter, the floor and my skirt. I wasn’t burnt, my friend didn’t get a container of soup. Next time, I’ll check to make sure it is pyrex or that the soup is really cool.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie V
    Sep 04, 2009 @ 14:54:58

    Oh, it’s a good thing you let the soup cool off. I’m imagining the mess. Poor you! Good thing you did all that cleaning before – it would have been too awful with chicken soup mixed in.

    Reply

  2. KathleenC
    Sep 04, 2009 @ 15:47:49

    We had a similar explosion *with* Pyrex recently! DH had just finished cooking with a Pyrex baking dish and set it down on top of the stove… apparently on a spot of cool water or something. We don’t know why it happend, but it shattered! An explosion of large and small bits all over the kitchen.
    It’s scary! Glad you were okay!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

