From the sweatshop

My sewing studio upstairs feels like a sweatshop, it just holds the heat from the courtyard, so I have shut the shutters and hope it doesn’t get any warmer. The other reason it seems like a sweatshop is that it seems never ending because I keep working on the same project.
I have returned to the great coat sewalong from last year. The fabric has been laying out on my cutting table for 2 weeks now with no visible progress. I think I have now made a bit of progress, at least there is hope. I had laid out the pattern and was thread tracing the seam lines last September, when we put the house on the market and put my sewing in storage. I hated wearing my tight decades old coat last year and the goal is to wear it this year. So I checked it all out a couple of weeks ago and remembered that I’d need facings, that the coat needed lengthening by about 6 inches. So I measured and basted and there was no room for the collar pieces. So shortened everything by 2 inches and still not enough room. Thought about giving up several times. Last night, I decided to start over and laid out the pieces again, I think it will fit. So now 3 pieces have been thread traced and I am keeping crossing my fingers. I would really like to get it cut out by Monday as company comes on Tuesday.

I made a bracelet and necklace from the greenish beads that I picked up in Rome, it took quite a while to figure out what to put with them, I picked up the pendant at an Artist’s market on Thetis Island when we were sailing. IMG_0229

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie V
    Jul 17, 2009 @ 23:31:25

    The pendant’s a perfect match…I love those green beads.

    Reply

  2. Heather G.
    Jul 18, 2009 @ 02:28:35

    That is stunning!

    Reply

  3. Louisa
    Jul 24, 2009 @ 15:39:42

    I’ve got the same “sweatshop” problem! The curse of having my studio on the top floor. A big fan/swamp-cooler helps when it’s aimed straight at me and it’s on wheels so I can drag it around. Love the tabular beads!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

