Finally a little sewing

This is the pattern I used and the jacket I started when on the road trip in the last post. It is a lot closer fitting than the hoodies of old and I like the princess lines better as well. The view, I used, called for fabric strips to be attached to the front, back and sleeves and I will blame the lack of a decent table and poor lighting in the motel, to the poor job I made of attaching them. This is really an at home garment. I had originally cut it longer but while up at the motel, I decided to cut it off at the line suggested for the view I was using. A few minutes later I discovered that the hem was left raw! The yoga pants are not done yet.


My first online purchase with my new account. Lots of detail in this book on ties and totally different than how the big4 pattern companies put them together. My tie making will take place after Christmas. David Coffin covers custom length, details all the different ways of constructing the perfect point and lining. I pawed through all the old ties I had collected and to my delight even found some of the interfacing from inside. Unfortunately the ties were skinny in those days, so I can’t really use them. I did wash them just in case. I may have to order some interfacing from California. The tie fabrics don’t photograph all that well, the one on the left is great in real life. They are from Fabricmart.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Heather G.
    Dec 15, 2008 @ 12:13:00

    Ha, I didn’t recognize your dining room 🙂

    That is a terrific hoodie! Ties open up a whole new realm of opportunities, don’t they…

    I actually did some sewing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

