Spool Art

Spools of thread, they just seem to multiply in my sewing room and long ago, I gave up on a sewing box to keep them in one place. At one time there were several thread holders along an eight foot window sill. Now I try to keep them in zip locks, in different colour groups. Machine embroidery threads have their own box, as does the buttonhole twist, likewise with the rayon thread. So now the spools are in a fairly good sized rubber maid container and the serger threads are in a couple of drawers in plastic organizer. I came across a blog where the artist, Devorah Sperber, creates using spools of thread to do paintings, imagine over 5000 spools in a piece. I love how they look on the blog and I sure would like to see them in person one day.

Knitting is at a standstill, I haven’t ripped out everything on the new cardigan, but I have done the last few rows way too many times. I am thinking that I don’t want to think about every stitch.

I feel like the last person on earth to see Meryl Streep in Mamma Mia. Oh my I wish I had that kind of energy. There were 14 of us at the 12:40 matinee. The songs have been in my head ever since.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie V
    Oct 14, 2008 @ 01:43:00

    You are not the last person 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

