Time to relax, time to knit.

We were off on the boat for a week. Nice hot weather, met up with good people, ate and slept well.
It was the first time ever that we tied up in Nanaimo. The link shows where we tied up, we were right down town, we could see the Bastion, the theatre and the mall from where we were tied up. We had planned on going through Dodd narrows and were waiting for slack water but the winds were high on Wed and really blowing on Thursday, so most boaters stayed put for a couple of days. Friday the wind died down and we came home, we had the sails up for a few hours but the trip took 8 hours from dock to dock.
On Thursday night we had dinner in the Minnouz resturant at the Coast Hotel. It was delicious and we both had bacon wrapped venison. We then took in a play, Proposals by Neil Simon, which I had wanted to see in North Van, it was one of 10 plays in the provincial finals Mainstage. It was a lovely evening.

While away, I sewed repairs on the weather cloths, cleaned inside, hubby did outside, put the curtain rods and curtains back up and made a big list of the things we’d like to do next year on the boat. New dodger, new wheel cover, new cover for the BBQ and winches, a table for the cockpit, new taps– and the list goes on.

I managed to find yarn in the mall, Sugar and Cream, which I hadn’t used before and I conquered the Summertime Spa Cloth.(colour hasn’t come out correct in the photo. Some days, I feel like I will never graduate beyond a small cloth or towel when it comes to lace. I will continue to persevere and I found the cotton and the galaxy needles easy to use. I found Bamboo sock
yarn, On Your Toes by SRK.
.

I spent a good portion of my time working on socks for my hubby, 2×2 rib and I am now down to the gusset.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie V
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 15:13:00

    Hasn’t that part of Nanaimo changed a lot? -and for the better! We were there last July for Christine’s wedding. We stayed at the Coast Bastion and enjoyed sharing it with all the dragon boaters in town. Watching the races was one of the highlights.
    Your bamboo yarn sounds lovely.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

