Sewing lessons


I haven’t worked with wool fabric for a long time. My DIL brought her skirt material and lining from LA Fabrics in Toronto. Butterick pattern,4613, a straight skirt with the flounce. I had a few challenges with the invisible zip, and she had a few with the seams themselves, she hadn’t done darts before. So cutting out slippery lining, learning about nap fabrics, how to press and all the other myriad of things long time sewers take for granted, was quite the learning curve. The finished skirt looked fabulous. Then there was enough left over for a vest.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annie
    Jan 05, 2008 @ 10:32:00

    Hi Rosemary, Don’t know how I came across your blog but loved the name and was looking at bags. I have just had a tote tute from my friend RIC RAC – see her link on my blog. I will post my new bag next. Come again.

    Reply

  2. Annie
    Jan 05, 2008 @ 10:33:00

    Well done with the skirt. I am not a terrific garment sewer, but used to do a lot when the children were small.

    Reply

  3. Heather G.
    Jan 05, 2008 @ 16:45:00

    I forgot we didn’t take pictures of the vest! I will have to get dressed up for a photo shoot.

    Thanks for your patient lessons! I will have to look for an auto-shut-off iron of my own 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

