A Better Way to Purl

My tension in stocking stitch, when working on straights, is uneven. With baby cardigans I tend to just plod along hoping that the interesting texture that results will be OK. I have pondered and questioned is it the knit stitch or the purl stitch causing the problem? Do I have to make swatches of different size needles and perhaps different colours of yarn for the purl and knit stitches? Being lazy, it has taken a few months in the planning of solving this problem.

I had never read an Elizabeth Zimmerman book before last week, I got Knitting without Tears from the local library. http://www.amazon.ca/Knitting-Without-Tears-Easy-Follow/dp/0684135051/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1195077967&sr=8-1 On page 17, for left handed knitters, she explains the easy way of looping the yarn on the purl stitch. Then, she explains, the slightly more complex version, which in her opinion is better. I gave it a whirl with some scarf yarn, my tension looks better. I may be still fooling myself, but I am not ready to try with some plain colour yarn. With the varigated yarn, I am quite pleased and one day I will put some other yarn to the test.

Adriana asked questions awhile back, the shoes aren’t too bad, wearable. Don’s scarf was made with a skein of Plassard Symphonie and one skein of Kid Super 100% Austrailan Merino.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Adriana
    Nov 15, 2007 @ 03:46:00

    Are you left handed? I would have thought that I’d have noticed that before.
    I think there’s something a little wonky with my purling too. I might have to check out that book.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

