The muse has returned

Although I have a lot of projects in the works, a lot of the time it feels like I am just getting nowhere. Usually a bunch get finished around the same time. The number of projects never decreases, because I start something new before finishing that last little bit.

This time on the boat, I packed my largest suitcase just to manage my crafts and reading materials. I read the Bonesetter’s Daughter http://www.amazon.ca/Bonesetters-Daughter-Amy-Tan/dp/0804114986/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/701-0605876-4065134?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1187383580&sr=8-1 by Amy Tan, just loved it. I had a good selection of my favorite magazines, bought new ones while away and I bought a book, http://www.amazon.ca/Stitch-Dissolve-Distort-Machine-Embroidery/dp/1596680504/ref=pd_bowtega_1/701-0605876-4065134?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1187398179&sr=1-1I read everything from cover to cover. I don’t do my crafts when the boat is underway, so it is only when tied up that I accomplish anything. I have a lot of time to mull over and ponder my crafts with no distractions of a house to clean or a garden which desparately needs work. No phone and no computer.

I took 3 knitting projects and only worked on one. I took altered art supplies and made 2 ATC’s, and a couple of journal pages. I took a case with hand embroidery, I didn’t do that but worked on some needlecanvas, it has been a few years since I did any and I found myself getting excited about it again.

So when I found silk experiment kits, foil, puff paint, tyvek fabric and lutrador. I had ideas for dolls. I need to experiment now and see how my materials evolve.

In the meantime, I blocked the baby sweater——oh my goodness the fronts are different sizes, I was quite shocked. Not a big problem, just have to get at it and finish it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Adriana
    Aug 20, 2007 @ 12:43:00

    Looks like you’re doing some pretty interesting things. Can’t wait to see what you come up.
    I hate when pieces aren’t the same size. At least you figured it out now instead of when you tried to sew it all together 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment