Let’s get started!

I have read about people who work on only one project at a time, they don’t start another until the first one is finished.

Knitting:
I try to keep to under 3 projects, mostly because I don’t keep good notes, I always think I am only putting it down for a short period of time. On that note, I finished a stole, it is not blocked and a couple of ends need to be woven in, baby outfit less than 20% and I will be done, the sock hasn’t now been touched for a couple of weeks.

Altered Art:
Card making, altered books, tags–I like to work in bits, a bunch of backgrounds, a few rubber stamped images, a collection of brads, trims, beads, sequins, all waiting the pressing deadline. A birthday, an atc swap due in a few days. Then I gather the elements, related to colour or theme and I finally get it together.

Sewing:
Same thing, a blouse may be nearly done, just buttonholes, hems to do, and there it sits until I need to wear it. The waistband and hems on pants, same thing. What do I do? Easy buy another pattern and more fabric.

So what’s the problem, all my crafts through the years have followed the same pattern. That includes, household sewing, doll making, jewellery making, cross stitch and needlework.

So I look at all the various supplies and vow to use my labeller, and put things where they belong, sort everything before it goes back into my sewing room. I sorted out my yarns this evening.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Adriana
    Feb 18, 2007 @ 17:43:00

    I try to keep my number of projects on the go to a minimum, especially since I tend to focus all my attention on one and let the others just sit there. But I love starting things so much! Right now as I’m close to finishing Birch I want to cast on for another shawl already or a sweater 🙂

    I look forward to seeing pictures of your stole and baby outfit.

    Reply

  2. Louisa
    Feb 20, 2007 @ 22:29:00

    I always have several projects on the go, all in different phases of completion. So how did you sort your yarns? I have a system of sorts but I’m not sure it’s the best way. Of course I also have coned weaving yarns which are much different to store from the balls and skeins. Sigh. Maybe the stash is getting away from me?

    Reply

  3. Heather G.
    Feb 21, 2007 @ 13:56:00

    I need several projects on the go because if I hit a snag in one, I am often not in the right mood to address it, and therefore I can move on to the next project until I hit a snag in that one, and so on…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

