I have been reading a lot of blogs regarding sewing clothing and getting the proper fit. It requires adjusting patterns and makig a trial garment known as a muslin. I usually just cut out the tissue pattern, put it up against my body, check in the mirror if it goes around  and then hope for the best.
I bought a blouse pattern that was labelled how to fit a full bust.  So I followed the list. Cut out the tissue pieces, ironed them, put small pieces of scotch tape against necklines, armholes and other curves. It has princess seams, so this took me awhile. Then I remeasured to make sure I was doing the right size and pinned the back together and the front to it at the shoulders. Next phone a neighbour to see how the back fit, it was OK. Now the front, next make sure the bust apex is correctly located,  cut out both front pieces in that area, slide the pattern, tape it to a new backing, redraw the seam, try on again, it is better. Next width is tackled, cut along line 3, spread the tissue, add new tissue in the space, tape. cut line 2 spread pattern again, like an additional dart,  that makes it longer in one area, tape that, now cut the other piece to even that up, tape it.  now cut to the seam allowance and swivel pattern until the new dart cutout is closed again.  Redraw the new seam allowance where the cut was just made.  That wore me out, the stress and strain required a glass of sherry and a time out to read a few chapters  of escapism.  Pin it all back together and try on, it looks pretty good.  I decided to rest for awhile after that, no wonder I have given up on this process before.  It will all be worth the work if the blouse fits.

Leave a Reply

